Road Safety

Escargot
Escargot Posts: 361
edited September 2009 in Road beginners
Hi all

Has anyone got any useful tips for cycling on the roads ? As a relative newbie I get a fair bit of advice from friends but was wondering if anyone on here had any more that would help make road cycling safer. Although not exhaustive here are a few that have already been suggested (please agree/disagree as you wish :) ).
    On country/winding roads, cycle in the middle of the road to improve visibility for cars approaching from behind (move over upon hearing cars approaching). Approach petrol station exits with caution (drivers are often not paying attention when leaving). On an A road, cut across a slip entering the road to reduce the time spent 'over' a junction. Keep a fair distance from the road side so that motorists have to make evasive manoevers (riding too close to the kerb makes drivers think they can squeeze through).

Any more would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• teulk
    teulk Posts: 557
    Get some eyes in the back of your head, never trust people in cars !
    Boardman Team 09 HT
    Orbea Aqua TTG CT 2010
    Specialized Secteur Elite 2011
  • lastwords
    lastwords Posts: 304
    On winding roads i will move away from side when aproaching corners where there is not enough space for a car to sensibly overtake me or when aproaching blind crests in the road etc, but on straight section or where i think it is safe for cars to pass i will ride a bit closer to the edge.

I have only been riding a road bike for a couple of months (uasually ride MTB) but i have quickly learnt that on junctions and roundabouts to take my time and dont expect the cars to stop i think they expect you to be travelling a lot slower, Assume they havnt seen you.
  • skinson
    skinson Posts: 362
    Treat everyone in a car as a complete blind nobber!!! That seems to work for me.
    Dave :wink:
  • skinson wrote: