Cleat advice....

Lady Venom
Lady Venom Posts: 213
edited August 2009 in Road beginners
Ok so I am new to this, am about to buy a bike tomorrow after much research and trying out various bikes I have settled on the Bianchi C2C Alu, hopefully with the Campag Xenons if I can get a good price, if not it will have to be the Sora and upgrade over time.

Been looking at cleats, and was wondering whether being a beginner, what float I need? I see the 4.5 (red) look cleats are pretty popular.... I have knee alignment issues with one knee through a muscle imbalance in my quads and need to work the inside more than the outside to keep my knee cap tracking correctly - would 4.5 suit this, or should I get fixed?

My understanding of float is that it's horizontal movement?

Slightly worried about the cleat thing, never used before but I guess it should be ok, I'm pretty strong!

LV

Comments

• pianoman
    pianoman Posts: 706
    hopefully with the Campag Xenons if I can get a good price, if not it will have to be the Sora and upgrade over time.

Go on, barter them down, GET THE XENONS :D

As for pedals, I would have thought poor knee tracking would be exacerbated with floating cleats. Certainly I never liked the 5 degrees of "swivel" in the Look Keo's (though strangely the Wellgo RC-715's I have now seem to absolutely fine and feel fixed despite apparently having float). Some float is quite resistant like mine because of the metal cleat. Others like the Look Keo's use floppy plastic cleats so they jump out of line with no provocation. At least that's what happened for me.
  • Lady Venom
    Yeh I did notice they were plastic..... I'm going to try and barter them down if they have my size, I didn't realise they had it at first!
    Can't afford new pedals so they looks the bianchi comes with will do for now. Guess I should go for fixed then?
  • pianoman
    Plastic.........never been a fan of it really. Prefer metal :P