Diabetes and Cycling

northern lad
northern lad Posts: 13
Looking for a bit of advice and help if there's any insulin dependent cyclist out there.

Basically every time I go out on my bike I end up having a hypo (sugar goes too low). I've played around reducing my insulin amount and test regular, but I just can't seem to get it right.

As anyone got any advice on better diet, energy drinks suitable for my condition etc.

Comments

• geoff93
    geoff93 Posts: 190
    I'm no expert, but can you not just drink high sugar drinks, during the ride, like lucozade to counteract what is lost?
    Trek Madone 3.5 (RS80s, Arione)
    Trek Madone 3.1 (Upgraded)
    Ribble TT Bike
    Trek Mamba (Garry Fisher Collection)
  • crankycrank
    crankycrank Posts: 1,830
    I'm not sure if my experience is helpful since I'm Type 2 diabetic but my medication causes me to become severely hypo at times during med-hard riding. I've tried using different dosages etc. but the best solution I've found is to use a sugary sports drink at regular timed intervals and carry glucose tablets for emergencies because the exercise tends to make my blood sugar drop very rapidly at times. If your drink causes your blood sugar to go too high try diluting it with water until you find the right solution. Sounds like your situation may be similar so I hope this helps. Also google "Team Type 1" which is a pro race team which has several type 1 diabetics on their squad and may have some info for you.
  • mikeq
    mikeq Posts: 141
    As you've discovered excercise has an insulin like effect, in that it gets rid of the glucose in your body.

As you know everyone's diabetes is different and you'll no doubt have your own way of managing yours, so it is probably difficult for anyone to give specific advice.

The only thing I can tell you is not to exercise at the peak of your insulin injection, you'll know when that is for you.