sram 10spd chains

ddraver
ddraver Posts: 26,348
edited August 2009 in Workshop
Hi Guys

Thinking i was a mechanical expert although new to 10 speed road groups I blindly attathed it all to the bike.

I used a chain tool to break and redo the chain instead of the powerlink (which i ve done on their 9 spd MTB chains with no issue) The first ride out it broke as i pulled out of the junction outside my house - I got all of 200 yards. Tell me have a ruined the chain now? I also did nt watch their videos or read the instructions and thereby broke the powerlink so i need a new one (i could blame wiggles "unboxed" sales for this but i think thats unfair!) - good day so far :oops:

Also-the cassette (also unboxed) came with a spacer - where does this go?

Cheers
DaveK
We're in danger of confusing passion with incompetence
- @ddraver

Comments

• maddog 2
    maddog 2 Posts: 8,114
    Just re-join the chain with a new powerlink

spacer goes on before the cassette, on some freehubs. Shimnao 10spd cassettes need a spacer, SRAM ones often don't.
    Facts are meaningless, you can use facts to prove anything that's remotely true! - Homer
  • ddraver
    I broke it in more than one place - are they all going to be so ropey?
    - @ddraver
  • andy162
    andy162 Posts: 634
    Spacer as mentioned, goes on before cassette. I've got a pair of Mavic Kysrium SL's and some Aksiums, both needed spacer with SRAM 10spd.

Regards your chain...bin it!

The SRAM powerlink is quite a bit wider than the rest of the chain & they have a tendency to snag the bottom jockey wheel on the rear mech(in certain gears). Also the shifting is much improved with a KMC 10spd. Far smoother upshifts.
  • maddog 2
    +1 on the KMC
    Facts are meaningless, you can use facts to prove anything that's remotely true! - Homer
  • ddraver
    Can someone quickly tell me if a KMC link will fit the SRAM chain - its all I can find on Bank holiday Mon and I'd like to get a bit of a ride in if poss!
    - @ddraver