End of season recovery period. How long?

tommy_tommy
tommy_tommy Posts: 91
I started training using extended intervals around threshold from about July 2008 (2X20, sweet spot etc). I trained for an event in early November and since I only trained for around 7 hours a week on average and recovered OK, I continued with this type of training right through the winter and into this season. I had a good season achieving both my goals, a 10mtt PB and staying finishing in the bunch in 3/4 cat races.

My goals for next season is another 10mtt pb and try to pick up some points in the 3/4 road races.

I was intending to follow the same the schedule as last year but increase the number of brisk session and weekly hours through the winter. The only problem is that for the last few weeks I have been carrying a strange hip/hamstring injury. I am now thinking of finishing up my season now and reverting back to some gentle slow rides until my leg heals. I would then start on my build period for next year in November.

My experience has shown in terms of fitness these slow rides contribute very little towards fitness required to race. However, do they have a place at this time of year? How many of you take a break and for how long.

Comments

• Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    A month.
  • andy162
    andy162 Posts: 634
    I'll be backing off gradually in about a month. It's then Sunday club runs or mtb instead. I do very little in December. Jan onwards I'll start to ramp up the training again. Saturday chaingang, club run then a couple of spin classes. March is a Majorca training camp then I'm most of the way back to decent fitness.