Whats causing pins and needles in my toes?

37monkey
37monkey Posts: 141
edited September 2009 in Road beginners
I'm fairly new to road biking, this is the end of my forth week, and i've covered just over 300 miles, I'm riding a defy 3 (09) with the standard giant saddle and shimano spd's. I've twiddled with the bar heights and angles and moved my hoods accordingly, I've tried the seat post at different heights and moved the saddle to a point that feels right and tipped it down at the front a few mm. all this has minimised the pins and needles but i still get it slightly after about 30 mins of riding. I do move around on the saddle depending on gradient but i try to keep standing to an absolute minimum. I'm hoping it's the saddle but is there any way to try before i buy a new one?

Comments

• afcbian
    afcbian Posts: 424
    I had this when I switched to spd's and found I simply had the straps too tight.
    Worth a shot
    I ride therefore I am
  • 37monkey
    thanks, i forgot to mention that i had discovered on my second or third time out that hot feet swell slightly, but i'll try some different insoles maybe and see if that helps
  • Fru T Bunn
    Fru T Bunn Posts: 159
    afcbian wrote:
    ... had the straps too tight.
    +1

Got some shoes with a ratchet tightening mechanism overtightened.
  • skyd0g
    skyd0g Posts: 2,540
    If the pedals are MTB type SPD's rather than the road-type SPD-SL, it may be the SPD's themselves that are contributing to the problem you describe. SPD's have a smaller contact area than other (road) pedals - therefore any road "buzz" is concentrated on a smaller area of your foot. Similarly, MTB/SPD shoes are generally a little more flexible than road shoes, again concentrating the road vibration in a smaller area.

I would certainly check the tension on your straps, but would also look at changing / adding to the existing insoles for more damping.