Enduro or All Mountain buying advise please...

Doughty
Doughty Posts: 22
edited September 2009 in MTB buying advice
Hello All,

The quick bit...
I'm looking for a big travel full suspension bike that can also be ridden up the hills as well as down the hills, from my initial research, a typical 'All Mountain' or 'Enduro' bike.

(more detail)
I just got back into riding after a good break, I dusted off my year 2000 specialized rockhopper FSR comp and went for a blast around Cannock Chase Follow the Dog trail, I loved it!
but the V-brakes and old entry level year 2000 forks and rear shock felt past their best.

I am not an expert rider, I would say about average, but I felt I was getting better even as they day went on.
I really like the feel of riding a plush full suspension bike

the things that annoy me about my current bike...
- low bottom bracket and pedal grinds
- non adjustable seat post, not possible to lower the seat without sawing the post

so I am looking in the price bracket of ~£1500 for a big travel full sus bike that I can ride with my XC friends up the hills, and be condident going down the hills too.

I can't see any spec's that give the bottom bracket heights, am I missing something?

Thanks in advance
Chris

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    How about the new FSR XC comp? 120mm at each end - plenty for FTD.
  • Doughty
    thanks for the quick reply, I do intend to do more than follow the dog, trips into wales and places beyond for sure.

FTD has just made me realise how much I like riding off-road and I want to do a lot more of it, both in freqency and difficulty
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Marin wolfridge. Sorted.
    marin's website has all the spec you'll need

Remember that those are 2009 prices, the geometry has remained largely unchanged over the last two years, and prices on 2008 ones (if you can find them) have dropped considerably, as will, no doubt, the 2009 ones soon.