New tyres and speed difference?

strodey
strodey Posts: 481
edited August 2009 in Road beginners
Fairly new to this road bike lark but loving it and its taking over (feel guilty if i say taken)from the mountain bike!

Question is i currently have Giant defy advanced 3 with mavic cxp wheels (seem heavy) and michelin Lithion 700x25 tyres.

At some point want to start upgrading with the wheels but until then will changing the tyres to some pro race 3 or similar make a noticeable difference to speed?
I can notice it on mountain bike switching from summer to winter tyres but can't see if this change will make too much difference on the road bike!

Any comment appreciated!
Carbon is a mans best freind

Comments

• Grazy81
    Grazy81 Posts: 196
    I am new to road bikes too but i suspect going to 23's will reduce your rolling resistance and therefor increase your speed, as for a noticiable difference i dont have the experience yet to make a judgement.
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Yes. Appreciable improvement.

Go for Conti Force/Attack from cycleswag or some Vittorias within your budget...
  • markos1963
    markos1963 Posts: 3,724
    There is very little difference between 23 and 25mm tyres in terms of rolling resistance, there's more gain through aerodynamics due to the 23mm tyre being nearly the same width as the rim.

Pro Race 3's are definatly a good move although I use Lithiums(23mm) on my bike and have been pretty happy with them. Only one pu%$ture in 3000 miles
  • Grazy81
    Grazy81 Posts: 196
    I am thinking of getting some conti 4000's in white to go with my red and white allez elite :twisted:

Should look good but i need to improve my speed so i can pull them off properly :wink:
  • turnerjohn
    turnerjohn Posts: 1,069
    Cont 4000s are great (the "S" versions superfast...tho what the wear!). oh and the whites not gona look white for long !