help! ive just bought a...

josh_exell
josh_exell Posts: 8
edited August 2009 in Road beginners
... boardman comp from halfords as i got a very good price and found one in my size. tey built it up and i went to collect it. on the first ride i realised something didnt feel right. i didnt feel like the old bianchi or my dads focus i had been riding. it felt very stretched out and uncomfortable. is this the wrong size bike or do i need a shorter stem! i have a medium and i am 5ft 9" i measured my dads focus cayo which feels comfortable and his bars are 5cm closer to him and the hoods are 7cms closer. the hoods is were i feel the most discomfot. the bars also feel a very thin diameter but very big in size and twitchy on the drops?! are these just bad components that need upgrading as i have the extra money any ideas?
i know these are probably simple things to answer but im a complete newbie here.

thanks

Josh

Comments

• skyd0g
    skyd0g Posts: 2,540
    I have a Boardman Comp (small) and felt "stretched out" at first, as well as it being a little "sketchy" on the drops just as you do. I tried rotating the angle of the bars, but didn't feel 100% comfortable overall. It either felt okay on the hoods, but the drops ended in a crazy position or vice-versa. :?

I first considered swopping the stem to a shorter one, but was concerned that this would make the handling even "twitchier". After some thought and deliberation, I changed the "ergo" handlebars to a set of FSA Omega Compact bars. http://www.wiggle.co.uk/p/cycle/7/FSA_Omega_Alloy_Compact_Handlebar/5360036373/
    The new bars where a total revelation! They have a shorter reach (bringing the hoods in closer), but also with a more "normal" curve meant that I had more positions to choose on the drops too. Worked for me. :wink:
    Cycling weakly
  • Mister W
    Mister W Posts: 791