Starting out - advice please

Gettingthere
Gettingthere Posts: 11
edited August 2009 in Road beginners
Hello,

I am an absolute beginner at this. I have a bike, and a few bits of kit (shorts etc) and consider myself unfit for me but maybe not as unfit as the average office worker!

I have been out on the road a few times and am wondering what sort of fitness plan I should have?

Should I increase time or distance? Its a bit flat where I am so no chance of hill work. Can't seem to find any simple programs to follow, although there are a lot for running.

thanks

Comments

• Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Hi mate!

At this stage just concentrate on getting out and riding, no plan needed. Just try and find new routes and increase time and distance, getting used to riding the bike.

I'd suggest you buy a computer so you can log your mileage and speed but this is not essential at this stage.

The main thing is just to enjoy riding!

A 'plan' can sap some of that enjoyment out for some people (not me, I love following a plan and looking at all my facts and figures!) and it would be a shame to put you off.

When you are comfortably riding a fair few miles in one go, say 50 or so (just plucked that out of thin air) then I'd consider joining a club. The club runs can be great fun.
  • jswba
    jswba Posts: 491
    Welcome!

Just enjoy being out on the bike. If you're after something structured, the Cycling Weekly Health and Fitness for Cyclists magazine has a 4-week plan for beginners.
  • Thanks, I do have a computor, I'm also into noting down everything to see how I'm improving!! I just feel a bit like I don't know what I'm doing. steadier for longer? or shorter faster. I think I'll concentrate on upping the distance first. 50 miles. gulp. :shock:

Will look for that plan. Thanks.
  • Hello,