Girls shorts questions. Also, pants or no pants?

Gettingthere
Gettingthere Posts: 11
edited August 2009 in Road beginners
I am new to this cycling malarky. I have some shorts but they don't have padded bums. I figured that mine wouldn't need additional padding!! What I have are fine for me at the moment, (don;t go out for more than an hour) but I am assured that I will need extra padding sooner or later.

I really don't want to spend a fortune, but will spend more if its necessary. Any recommendations? I am a size 12 if that makes any difference.

Also, I have read on other threads that no pants is the way to go. REALLY??? Is that for boys and girls? Or are there special pants that I need too? SDo;t get me wrong I'm not averse to no pants :lol: but it sseems wrong somehow when sitting on a bike.........

Thanks

Comments

• daveclow
    daveclow Posts: 164
    :shock:
  • dilemna
    dilemna Posts: 2,187
    :shock:

Any pics?
    Life is like a roll of toilet paper; long and useful, but always ends at the wrong moment. Anon.
    Think how stupid the average person is.......
    half of them are even more stupid than you first thought.
  • You shouldn't wear pants if the shorts have a chamois. Everyone is different when it comes to shorts, so have a look around and see what you think fits you best.
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Pants cause chafing and do not wick sweat away which can result in saddle sores. (Saddle sores are a mare!!)

Best combo is some good padded shorts and some chamois cream.

You tend to get what you pay for with shorts and a good pair is a very good cycling investment!
  • Woodchip
    Woodchip Posts: 205
    NapoleonD wrote:
    Pants cause chafing and do not wick sweat away which can result in saddle sores.

Best combo is some good padded shorts and some chamois cream.
    Chamois cream optional, shorts very much recommended (especially if you've got a white saddle).
    I have nothing more to say on the matter.