Upper body training / bike training. Which order?

neilo23
neilo23 Posts: 783
I generally train on the road 5 times a week and go to the gym twice to do a little upper body / core training. Due to time constrictions I need to do both today. Does it make any difference if I do one before the other? Normally one would do aerobic exercise before doing any weight training but if I do the strength training before I go for my ride will it help to ensure that I don't build any upper body mass? ie I'll get the strength benefits without putting on any weight. Clear as mud :-)

Comments

• gkerr4
    gkerr4 Posts: 3,408
    i know what you mean.

Mens Health Magazine - of which I got a cheap subscription to - seem to think that the order should be strength and then aerobic

there seem to be a number of reasons for this - that the aerobic boosts your muscle building process - that its safer as you have more energy in the weights room and therefore less likely to fail with a large bench-press on your chest.

I would imagine there are pros and cons each way to be honest..
  • gkerr4
    Oh - the other thing I would add however, is that while I often feel like some strength work when I get back from a ride (I have a gym at home) - I have NEVER felt like going a ride after I have worked in the gym!!

So i guess it is also a case of what is most suitable to you!
  • Most coaches on here will tell you weights are a load of tosh for cycling.But what do they no, there only interested in selling coaching plans and power meters. If you have a home gym, think you would be better doing your biking first, then later in the day,do some weights, but split your routine up over the week ie day 1 chest, day2 back, day 3 bi / tri and delts, core every other day. Do 3 on2 off, or 1on 1off. Dont bother with legs,big legs dont make better biker.
  • gkerr4
    Dont bother with legs,big legs dont make better biker.

they do make you look better in shorts though - depends on your priorities!