Dragon XC, Llandegla - which entry? 1st race

James Latham
James Latham Posts: 170
edited August 2009 in XC and Enduro
Hello, I'm a bit of a newbie to the race scene and looking to do my first race at Llandegla on the 15th Aug. I'm in reasonable shape but I cant find any information on the race distance or what to expect? Or which class I should enter? Open? Sport?

Any help much appreciated!

Comments

• Mark2Bikes
    Mark2Bikes Posts: 127
    Me too! But good details of the race are very scarce - I can't even fine how long it is - any ideas?
    Mark
  • Dilker
    Dilker Posts: 88
    The Llandegla races are great... You can look at the previous races on www.timelaps.co.uk

If this is your first race i would do the open race, generally a larger field with a wider range of abilities.. Both sport and open races were 3 laps if i remember.
    'to give anything less than your best is to sacrifice the gift' Steve Prefontaine

"When I see an adult on a bicycle, I do not despair for the future of the human race" H.G.Wells
  • maloo
    maloo Posts: 214
    what route do they do at llandegla for these races ?
  • Dilker
    There is no way of knowing really, then tend to use a mixture of the new and old... they will cut through the the forest at intervals to join some of the main tracks. Courses are good, i've raced there 3 times i think, really enjoyed each of them.
    'to give anything less than your best is to sacrifice the gift' Steve Prefontaine

"When I see an adult on a bicycle, I do not despair for the future of the human race" H.G.Wells
  • Mark2Bikes
    Mark2Bikes Posts: 127
    How big is a lap? Any details on the web - still can't find them!
    If the open is a range of abilities does that make the Sport for the really good guys?
    Thanks
  • Dilker
    I averaged about 28 mins... I was 10th in the Sport race. The elites will lap 23/4. The laps is pretty long, most races are shorter.