Easy beginners friendly trail?

Max A
Max A Posts: 21
edited August 2009 in MTB general
Ok as the weather has now cheered up in the North East i am feeling brave and motivated to go out.
I'm bored of being on the cycle lanes ( which is where i've been sticking too) and i now fancy trying a track.

Harmsterly isn't far from me but i'm wondering if that might be a bit too scary :lol::lol:

Any suggestions for a newbie friendly track preferable one where i won't annoy the hell out of other riders for quite possibly looking and acting like a wally?

Comments

• andy46
    andy46 Posts: 1,666
    i'm interested in this too if anyone's got any advice as i'm also a beginner "up north"

For the OP i recently did the blue route at hamsterley with my girlfriend, there is a couple of fairly steep climbs but nothing too demanding i would definitly give that a go :)
    2019 Ribble CGR SL

2015 Specialized Roubaix Sport sl4

2014 Specialized Allez Sport
  • lm_trek
    lm_trek Posts: 1,470
    Its more midlands based, but i tend to take the guys from work to cannock to start with, FTD is a great starter trail.

Not sure of any up north!
  • MrNero50
    MrNero50 Posts: 13
    You'll be fine at Hamsterly, on either the blue or red. The red is basically a longer version of the blue with a few more climbs. Though I understand the red is being improved. There is a little bit of the red from the Descend Hamsterly hut, that may present a challenge.

My advice would be have a go on the loop first, and if you can tackle the majority of the red portions, you'll be good to go!! :D
  • Flashy
    Flashy Posts: 25
    Do you have an address for Hamsterly? I'm living in North Tyneside and I take delivery of my new Genesis Core 20 next week.

Can't wait to give it a blast!
    MTB; Genesis Core 20 2009
    Road; Trek 2.3

Reformed BMX biker.
  • Thread8
    Thread8 Posts: 479
    i would just say pretty much any blue/red run, rather than specific trail centers