Wet weather tyre thoughts

downfader
downfader Posts: 3,686
edited August 2009 in Commuting chat
I've been using the Panracer Crosstowns for about 6 months and they're been pretty good so far. Had my first puncture with them today (didnt realise until a minute ago, some 5 hours after getting home). Before that I had the bontrager racelites and never had an issue with tearing over broken glass if I had to, and I ended up over glass a lot more then than I have with the Panracers. Though the racelites were naff if it rained - no grip and I'd have to slow right down.

So what do you guys cope with on really wet days? Not a big fan of marathons tbh.

Comments

• fossyant
    fossyant Posts: 2,549
    Conti Grand Prix 4 Seasons on the commuter fixie...but at £30 a pop they should be good, and are..........
  • I'll watch this thread with interest...

I've just got a Boardman Hybrid with 700x28c Maxxis Detonators on. Did my first wet commute in London this week and very nearly squashed a fellow cyclist as I slid in a sideways breathless fashion towards him.

It could be that I'm used to a MTB with 26x1.9 Continental Double Fighter 2's on, or it could just be that I'm a rubbish noob.
    '12 CAAD 8 Tiagra
  • Durbat
    Durbat Posts: 7
    After dropping my Trek hard in the rain the other day and buggering my hip (went down so fast I was still holding the hoods when I hit the tarmac) I'm looking to replace the original Bontrager boots with some thing a bit stickier.
  • downfader
    Cheers for the replies! I shall look up those Contis. :)
  • +1 for the Conti GP 4 seasons. Good all year round, only wish they didn't have those rather odd brown colour walls that Conti seems to add randomly on various models.
  • cjcp
    cjcp Posts: 13,345
    IRC, the Michelin Krylion Carbons I peviously used were pretty good, and better than the Gatorskins.

They stick to the road really well. My only complaint with them was that they cut up a lot more than Gatorsins.
    FCN 2-4.