knee pain

leebroad1
leebroad1 Posts: 10
edited August 2009 in Road beginners
Hi all i am looking for a bit of advice. I have been riding for about 3 months and have a focus cayo 105 but have recently changed the seat as it was not very comfortable. However i have also just started getting knee pain at the front of my right knee when going up inclines or put under pressure. Would the seat make a difference and are there any other things i could try. I appreciate all advice, cheers...............

Lee

Comments

• Try raising the seat a little. The new seat may have you a little lower than the old one.
  • Tino4444
    Tino4444 Posts: 281
    leebroad1 wrote:
    Hi all i am looking for a bit of advice. I have been riding for about 3 months and have a focus cayo 105 but have recently changed the seat as it was not very comfortable. However i have also just started getting knee pain at the front of my right knee when going up inclines or put under pressure. Would the seat make a difference and are there any other things i could try. I appreciate all advice, cheers...............

Lee

Hi Lee,

It could be casued by a number of things:

1. Is your seat set at the correct height? If its too high or too low then this could cause you some pain in your knee.
    2. Are you wearing spds? are they set up correctly? If not set in the right location this could also cause you some discomfort in your knees?
    3. Have you been cycling hard and/or over training? I sometimes get a slight niggle in my knee after going out for fast paced cycle.

I hope this helps.

Tino.
    Speciallized Allez 09...great bike shame about the wheels!!
  • leebroad1
    thanks for your swift replies, I have noted that the new seat is located about 3/4 inch more forward than the previous seat, could fore and aft of seat play a role?
    I have look pedals with red cleats but have not changed the position recently.

cheers
  • Tino4444
    Tino4444 Posts: 281
    leebroad1 wrote: