Winter hack -DIY

AGNI
AGNI Posts: 140
edited July 2009 in Road beginners
Been looking around for a winter hack and kinda set my heart on a cyclocross. I can do the country lanes, bit of commuting when I fancy and also take it over cannock chase for a blast.

I like the look of the Ridley Crossbow http://www.bikeradar.com/gear/category/bikes/cyclo-cross/product/crossbow-09-33264 Pretty reasonable at £699 new. I am looking for a used one but have had little success.

I have managed to find on ebay a frameset http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/DORA-THE-EXPLORER-3-WHEELED-SCOOTER-BIKE-NEW-BOXED_W0QQitemZ350179365609QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_Toys_Games_TV_Film_Character_Toys_ET?hash=item51885112e9&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14

Question 1) What would be a reasonable price for a frame like this?
Question 2) Am I foolish in buying a frame and building the bike up myself considering I have no experience in maintaining bikes? I thought it may be a good way to learn
Question 3) Will it work out more expensive this way? Am I better off waiting for a full bike to come along?
Question 4) Am I a burk for advertising this frame to other members who may now bid on it?

Any help greatly appreciated
Still suffering with wind

Comments

• Nuggs
    Nuggs Posts: 1,804
    AGNI wrote:
    Question 1) What would be a reasonable price for a frame like this?
    I guess you should cost up all the other components that you'll put on it. If it comes in less than a complete new bike then you need to make a call as to whether that saving is sufficient to reflect the fact the frameset's used.
    AGNI wrote:
    Question 2) Am I foolish in buying a frame and building the bike up myself considering I have no experience in maintaining bikes? I thought it may be a good way to learn