what tyres?

mickus
mickus Posts: 199
edited July 2009 in Road beginners
Hi All,

Having recently bought a road bike for commuting I am finding I get punctures far more regularly than I should!

I ride through Bristol and there are cobbled roads all over the place and the other roads are in rubbish condition!

What tyres would you suggest to help prevent pinch flats and other poor road related punctures? Also I would like to feel more confident in the wet on the cobbles!

I don't particularly want to spend the earth but am open to all options.

Thanks,

Mike

Comments

• jgsi
    jgsi Posts: 5,062
    mickus wrote:
    prevent pinch flats and other poor road related punctures?

Try a higher tyre pressure first of all
  • mickus
    I have them as hard as rock! My pressure gauge is broken, but I can tell you they are sufficiently pumped up.

Just so you know, I'm only a novice to road bikes. I have been mountain biking for 10 years. I was actually quite amazed at how different it is though!

I have been looking at these:

http://www.bikeradar.com/gear/category/components/tyres/road/product/twin-rail-courier-tyres-09-34099

But wondered if there were similar tyres for less. If nothing else comes up, I will happily pay £20 per tyre. Just on the bargain hunt and hoped to gain some knowledge on road tyres at the same time.

Cheers
  • Woodchip
    Woodchip Posts: 205
    I thought my tyres were sufficiently pumped up until I got pressure gauge on them and they were only at 50psi. Went and bought a track pump, stuck another 50psi in them and they roll sooooooooo much better now. Hadn't suffered a pinch flat though, so I may have been alright, but just 'coz they feel hard doesn't mean they're hard enough.
    I have nothing more to say on the matter.
  • mickus
    I have a fairly decent track pump and I've pumped them to the point where I'm scared to pump any more! (or too weak to - you decide)