Zesty 514 tubleless tyre gone a bit flat. ???

neeeeeeeeeek
neeeeeeeeeek Posts: 38
edited July 2009 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi, I am new to this tubeless lark! I have not had time to look at it, just noticed it was really soft as I left the house. Assuming it's not just the valve, will the tyre have some sealant in it which wil have stopped a full on flat or is that something you add yourself? Do I just take the tyre off and look for a puncture in the traditional fashion?

Sorry for being a spaz but I have never had tubeless before!

:)

Comments

• Yeti Jon
    Yeti Jon Posts: 19
    If it is straight out of the box as it were then there probably wont be any sealant in the tyres. You could try adding some and seeing if that fixes the puncture, if not there are tubeless puncture repair kits available that you can use with out taking the tyre off.

I have found numerous thorns etc in my tubeless tyres when i have removed them that weren't leaking any air.
  • Do you take them off to add the sealant or just use the valve? Any particular type you would recommend?

Cheers
    :)
  • breezer
    breezer Posts: 1,225
    I removed the god awful Race Kings from my Zesty after the first ride! There wasnt any sealant in mine. You can unscrew the valve core perhaps and get some sealant in that way or peel back the sidewall in one place, put some in then brush some soapy water around the tyre edge and blow it up with a foot/track pump, spin it round a bit and the sealant should do its job
  • That's for the info, I don't mind the race kings, not sure about when the wether turns tho! What have you replaced them with?? I will need some good tyres for muddy peak district trails :) I assume they are easy to fit being tubeless, no extra things I need to do or anything??

Cheers :)
  • breezer