New Commuting Bike Thoughts ???

Avoneer
Avoneer Posts: 525
edited August 2009 in Commuting chat
Hi All,

I've been commuting for nearly 20 years now and I'm due a new bike soon.

I started on MTB with nobbies, then moved to an MTB with skinnies.

After a while at that, I tried a Trek Hybrid (can't remember the model) but didn't really like it so went back to a MTB with skinnies.

I then moved house to a really hilly area and having front sus was killing me so I bought a Scott Sub30 (with 26" wheels) about 4 years ago.

That bike has been awesome, but I consider myself to be a lot fitter now and cycle to work pretty much flat out now against the clock - it's about 10 undulating miles either way. I've got it to under 40 minutes now which I'm quiet proud of.

Anyway, back to the bike choice....

As my route is all road and I never ride off road or on pavements (unless forced there), I'm wondering whether to buy a road bike. a flat bar road bike or a cyclo cross type bike.

I definately want to move up to 700cc wheels, but just can't decide on the bike.

I really want something lighter and even the new Scott Sub10 is 12 and a bit kg's which is about the same weight as my old Sub30.

I've been looking at the Scott Speedsters and Scott CX's, both under 10 kg's

My main concern would be damaging 700cc wheels if I hit a pot hole or something so I was wondering if going the Cyclo Cross way would be a better option - stronger wheels ???

Any thoughts / ideas anyone?

Budget about £1k with the cycle to work scheme.

Thanks,

Pat...
"Campagnolo has soul, Shimano has ruthless efficiency and SRAM has yet to acquire mystique. Differentiating between them is a matter of taste"

Comments

• doog442
    doog442 Posts: 370
    If you pop over to the road bike beginners forum plenty of people will tell you that a road bike can take a fair bit of abuse

Surely the big decision is that you may be contemplating going to drops after 20 years?