rear cassette loose help needed !

bing gordon
bing gordon Posts: 662
edited July 2009 in Workshop
ive just changed the wheels on a specialized allez triple from

JALCO GX 460's
to
MAVIC AKSUIM's.

after doing it and making sure the rear wheel is tight and no missing bits the cassette wobbles , like its loose.
the original plastic guard was shattered so i just threw that away (not sure if i need that) so do i need spacers or something ?.
i just thought that it would be a like for like.the cassette is a 8 speed (24 speed bike) and the new mavic's take a 8-9-10 speed cassette.
so now the gears crank like a good un.
im a total amateur with the tools but willing to learn :)
any help would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Cranks
    Cranks Posts: 129
    You need spacers to 'fill the gap' on your freewheel, the wheels are normally supplied with them or see you local bike shop.
  • bing gordon
    Cranks wrote:
    You need spacers to 'fill the gap' on your freewheel, the wheels are normally supplied with them or see you local bike shop.

ive just had a good look round on the net and i cant see anywere selling spacers.ive only a halfords nr me for parts and there dear as hell !.if you see any please send me the link .
    thankyou,.
  • bing gordon
    well just as a follow up , i have now relised that i need a " mavic spacer" due the the hub been slightly longer on a mavic wheel so the shimano cassette is short.

can someone please tell me which type of spacer ( thickness wise ) i will need for a shimano 8 speed cassette on a mavic aksuim wheel ?.

when i put the rear casstte on theres about a 1-2mm gap between the last ring and the the end of the hub so no matter how much tightening i do the locking nut will never screw down tight hence the need for spacer.
    would this do the job to bring the cassette forward ?

http://www.sjscycles.co.uk/src/froogle/ ... 0-6776.htm
  • John.T
    John.T Posts: 3,698