Bike weight

Guinny
Guinny Posts: 10
edited July 2009 in Road beginners
hi folks

considering buying a cheap road bike, weight states as 11.4kg.

is this a lot?

also would I notice much of a difference as a complete novice in a few kg? I will be riding for fun and fitness, not going to bother about times, average speed and all that jazz (though from seeing how addictive it can be this will more than likely change!)

cheers

Kev

Comments

• NoNotAgain
    NoNotAgain Posts: 91
    11.4 is quite a lot. Mine is 7.4 without any major weight tuning yet.
    Nonetheless since you don't want to run in competitions and probably never cross the Alps, a fitting geometry is a lot more important than weight.
    1,000km+ a month, strictly road.
  • I very much doubt you'll notice a great deal of difference if you're just starting out! At the end of the day you can loose a couple of kilos off a bike but if the rider weighs 90kg it's like throwing a deck chair of the Titanic!

My Allez weighs close to 11 kilos (I would guess, have never weighed it) but I weigh 67. This means that the combined weight of me and the bike probably weighs less then a lot of people without a bike! At low level cycling the rider weight will be a lot more significant I would say!

BTW, I can guarantee you will shortly be worrying about times and improving etc. I bought my bike in Easter with the same attitude as you, just because I liked getting out in the countryside and the freedom of it all... Now I'm always thinking about it, most of my plans are now based my plans to go for a ride! And I love it! :D
  • Bhima
    Bhima Posts: 2,145
    Lighter Bike =

+ Quicker up hills
    - Slower down hills
    + Less energy used for controlling the bike (attcking hills off the saddle/sprints etc)
    - Less control in the wind (especially crosswinds). You'll be blown about more.
    + Quicker acceleration, therefore, higher max speed in an all-out effort from zero.
    - Expensive
  • NoNotAgain