NEW BIKE AT LAST!!!!

nickempop
nickempop Posts: 73
edited July 2009 in Road beginners
Fianally took the plunge and got myself a Giant Defy 2.5, looked the best value for money (£625), only been around the block on it so far (due to work and the biblical rainfall we've been having!!!), All i can say is UNBELIEVABLE!!!!!!!! :D
Thought i'd wait for a dry day to try and get used to the Shimano R540 pedals i've put on it which seem really stiff to get out of even though i have loosened the to the slackest setting. Being a noob i'm putting this down to practice or should i have got the Look Keo Easy pedals...................... :?
Anyway can't wait to get out on it and get some mileage under my belt (chomping at the bit!!!!), question is - do i just ride a couple of routes every other day or stick to a training program?
Got a Camelbak Podium bottle today as-well!
Feel like an excited school boy again!
That sounded wrong - you know what i mean! :lol:

Comments

• Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Just get on it and see where you end up!
  • nickempop
    Might not have the strength to get back :)
  • Grazy81
    Grazy81 Posts: 196
    Picking my new one up tonight too so i am as excited as you sound lol

I wouldn't go too mad if your not used to cycling any distance cos you dont want to ache too much the rest of the week try and find a circular route maybe 5 - 10 miles in total so then you can go round as much as you like
  • Barkiesnake
    Barkiesnake Posts: 244
    nickmpop,
    I bought the Defy 2.5 at beginning of April and the smile hasn't left my face yet, even when i came off in the Magnificat and tore my shoulder muscles :oops:

My physio let me back on yesterday to do the London Bikeathon 52 mile route and it still had me grinning like a boy who's found his dads mags :D

I hope you and Grazy81 enjoy it as much as i do. Napoleon is right though, just get on and ride, enjoy yourself.

PS Napoleon, hows your recovery come on?