Southampton LBS

mikeyboy12345
mikeyboy12345 Posts: 187
edited July 2009 in Road beginners
I'm new to cycling, and noticed there's a fair few peeps from Southampton here, so was just wondering which Southampton LBS are good, and which aren't, on price/friendlyness/good advice/etc. Did a tour of the city yesterday looking for shorts/shoes and loads of other gear, but as a noob I don't know good advice from complete BS!! :?

Opinions on the following would be helpful!!

The Hub Cycleworks
GA Cycles
Hargroves
Cycle World
Rock & Road
Action Bikes
DH Cyclesport (never bl00dy open!)
Any others.

I've already bought a road bike and now I need all the rest of the gear. Your opinions on the best places in Soton would be most appreciated!

Mike

Comments

• brownbosh
    brownbosh Posts: 602
    Mikey for wheels and bikes i could have given recommendation depending on what type of gear you wanted but for those bits i would say chainreactioncycles on the tinterweb would be better. There is always a lot of sale gear on the web and it will save you a lot of cash and give more choice.
  • Ok, thanks! Will look at Chain Reaction. For a noob like me it's always nice to be able to go and finger the merchandise just to see what's what. E.g. looked at cycling shoes, but as my feet are different sizes I thought I'd need to try some on. I'm usu a UK size 8 or 9, but Shimano size 42 & 43 were too small, and a 44 way too big. Found an old (discontinued?) Sidi model in size 43 that fitted, but a different Sidi shoe in the same size I pretty much walked out of. Sometimes there's no substitute for trying before you buy!

Cheers for the reply tho!
  • Biscuiteer
    Biscuiteer Posts: 143
    Been a good few years since I was last in Soton but is Portswood cycles still open? I used to use them for the repairs I didn't have the tools to do myself.