Elevation data - which to trust?

Cubic
Cubic Posts: 594
edited July 2009 in Road beginners
Hi,

I did a 50mile ride around Surrey last weekend. My Garmin 705 tells me that I did 3685ft of ascent during the ride, but if I plot the same route on MapMyRide it says I only did 2280ft. And BikeRouteToaster says that I did 2776ft.

Anyone know which system is the most accurate, or are they all going to be very approximate? If so what is the best way to work out the total ascent?

Thanks.

Comments

• roger_merriman
    roger_merriman Posts: 6,165
    they are likely to be all rather approximate, to be honest.
  • Do you have long-travel front shocks? That might explain the difference - the Garmin is going up and down more than the rest of the bke.

More seriously though, GPS elevation is probably the least accurate. Try BikeHike and take the average of the 3 maps.
  • I thought the 705 had a Barometric Altimeter?? I would have thought it would have been pretty accurate (but I am no expert)
  • amaferanga
    amaferanga Posts: 6,789
    I use the ascent/descent figure from my Garmin as a guide. Though the absolute figure may be wrong (but no more wrong than bikehike, bikely, etc.) I thinks its useful for comparing my rides.
    More problems but still living....
  • AGNI
    AGNI Posts: 140
    The Edge 705 has a barometric altimeter so it reads your altitude from the atmospheric pressure. Question is how accurate is this due to changes in pressure with general weather conditions changing?

Last weekend I went over a lot of hilly terrain that I had not rode over before so I put up the elevation trace of the ride so I could see what inclines were coming up next. As it turns out, it wasn't entirely accurate
    Still suffering with wind
  • bobtbuilder
    bobtbuilder Posts: 1,537
    I don't rate the altitude function on the Garmin at all.