New to touring...

mask of sanity
mask of sanity Posts: 610
edited July 2009 in Tour & expedition
Hey guys,

Been cycling for few weeks on a road bike (been using MTB's for years before that) and a mate and I have rough plans to do a short tour of 3 to 4 days (dont laugh :oops: ) just to try it out.

My question is:

What kind of impact to performance do panniers have? Seeing as we won't be going for long we won't be carrying a great deal and are planning to stay in hostels so won't be carrying a tent or cooking equipment. Mostly clothes and food I should imagine. Also is it better to have two half loaded panniers or one fully loaded?

Many thanks,

Rich.

Comments

• clanton
    clanton Posts: 1,289
    I'm fairly new to touring so take this with a pinch of salt.

Panniers, depends on how much you pack into them really. You will definitely notice them in cross winds where they catch the wind a LOT. No matter how heavily you load them you will get used to them eventually, to the point where the bike may even feel wierd and twitchy without them. They are certainly more comfortable then a backpack.

Unless the single pannier is very lightly loaded it will be better to split the weight evenly.
  • MajorPayne
    MajorPayne Posts: 100
    Heya matey,

I'm planning my first road tour too, I'm very inexperienced like yourself but I'd thought I'd drop you another thought about rather then using panniers! Have you thought about pulling a trailer I've managed to purchase a German model from eBay for around £40, I'm still awaiting delivery of this item and I'll let you know how I go around using it and the difference it makes to the handling of the road bike itself.