Big problem Sora Gear derailleurs or flightdeck shifters

9scrumhalf7
9scrumhalf7 Posts: 5
edited June 2009 in Workshop
Hi all, just bought used Ridgeback horizon triple for getting back into road biking after afew years and cos the old git finds it difficult to get up off road ascents these days!
Bought off guy who is disappearing abroad at road side meet. At the handover I found that the rear derailleur did not change from 3rd sprocket even though shifter clicked for both up and down movement, the front set shifted upwards so thought was ok.
Got back home cleaned it and found that the lthe front derailleur won't move back down and the shifter is stuck and won't click anywhere up or down. Before I start dismantling anything, can anyoine advise what the prob may be and any remedy please. I have never used this type of shifter before as my old Sun Solo of 1979 vintage is unindexed and shifters are on the down tube!. Unfortunately I was under time pressure to get back for an important meeting 20 miles away otherwise I woulkd have looked at it more closely, but i did get a reduction in price!!. Thanks , Phil

Comments

• keef66
    keef66 Posts: 13,123
    what kind of shifters does it have? With Shimano Sora you move up to a bigger sprocket (rear, usually right hand lever) or chainring (front, left hand lever) by pushing the brake lever inwards towards the middle of the bike. Moving down to a smaller sprocket / chainring is achieved by pressing down on the little thumb lever. On Shimano groupsets Tiagra and higher the thumb lever is replaced by a second lever behind the brake lever.
  • keef66