New Bike Suggestions

chris_17
chris_17 Posts: 14
edited July 2009 in MTB buying advice
Hi, I'm new to Mountain Biking,been road riding for a few years, but want to get into mountain biking I'm after a bike for around £250, simply to 'test the water', and see if I like it, hence not spending all too much.

Do you have any suggestions about which ones to buy? Preferably from Evans, or Halfords as they're the closest to me. Thanks :)

Comments

• Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    if you just want to test the water, so to speak, I'd recommend going to your nearest trail centre, and hiring a bike.
    That way, you can try it out, on a pretty decent bike, and it will only cost you between 15 and 25 quid.
    Then, if you decide you enjoy it, consider spending money on a bike for yourself.

£250 quid is a lot to spend just to see if you like it or not.
  • At £250, not much! What are you looking to use it for?

There is a 'What Hardtail' thread at the top of the page that should help, but in order to make better suggestions we'll need to know more about the where's, why's, and how's!
    Newbie with a Felt Q720

A day where you don't learn something is a waste...
  • blister pus
    blister pus Posts: 5,780
    Halfords it's the Carrera Vulcan and with the regular 20% off, Vulcan disc. It would also be worth tracking a Decathlon store down, then you can look at the Rockriders, stretch your budget a little and there's the Rockrider 5.3.
  • dickst3
    dickst3 Posts: 56
    Stretch to £350 and try the Commencal Normal Disc, thats what I would get on that budget. I am trying to stretch my budget to £5-600 (started at £300!)
  • chris_17
    Thanks for the replies, I've found a local bike shop, well it's not really local but never mind, anyways they have a Giant Boulder and a Giant Rock in, they looked good, do you thnk that the Boulder would be a better choice for a beginner for £200?