Nutrition for Long-ish rides

sjclark
sjclark Posts: 64
I realise that there are quite a few posts on this topic but none of them seem to reflect the experiences I have had recently.

I rode the 185km version of the White Rose Challenge on Sunday and had an absolute nightmare of a time with my nutrition. Here's how it went:
- Up to 45 miles - fine. Drinking plenty (of High Five 4:1) and eating Torq bars
- At 45 miles, the leg cramps begin to kick in. So I back off the pace and put some more effort into drinking.
- By 80 miles (Malham), the leg cramps have subsided to be replaced by stomach cramps that left me doubled up in pain and belching like I have never done before.
- The last 35 miles were spent "surviving" (I walked up Lanbar!). I eventually finished in a time of 10hrs 30 mins. However (according to my computer) only 9hrs 15mins was actually spent cycling.

This is not the first time this sort of thing has happened. In an effort to beat leg cramp, I end up with stomach cramp. I also tend to bonk after 45-50 miles if I don't get some food / drink down me.

It has now got to the point where I don't think I will bother entering any more long Sportives and just go for the short / medium courses until I can sort this.

Anyone got any advice on how to beat this?

Thanks in advance

Steve

Comments

• Homer J
    Homer J Posts: 920
    edited June 2009
    Are you having a decent meal before you ride? Sounds like you are lacking in calories. Or getting them in too late
    Might be a reaction to high 5?
  • Chaz.Harding
    Chaz.Harding Posts: 3,144
    Take on protein and carbs pre-ride.

Eat more carbs and protein during ride. Every other hour, smash down a protein shake. You can buy the sachets, so isn't really a problem.

All the ELECTORLYTE drink you can stomach, mixed strong. Sounds like you are doing it though.

Keep eating flap-jacks, banana's, sandwhich's - anything you can eat. More carbs and protein in, the better.