Bottom bracket and crank size question

ince
ince Posts: 289
edited June 2009 in The workshop
Hi guys, I have got hold of one of the Ribble TT frames and I intend to build it into a single speed. I am gathering the parts I need atm and I have started to look for bottom brackets and cranks.

I have never built up a bike from this point before and I could do with some advice about how to work out what size bracket I need. I have taken the inside span of the threads in the bottom shell of around 67mm, how do I now go about working out what lenght axle I need?

I have been looking at the Sugino cranks and bb on ebay, the seller recomends the use of a 103mm bb which seems short. Also is british standard thread a standard type?

Last of all is the Sugino stuff any good?

thanks in advance :)

Mark

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    it will be 68mm bb width.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • Wooliferkins
    Wooliferkins Posts: 2,060
    As always Sheldon Brown has the answers. You have a 68mm shell which is English and is pretty much standard. The english BB threading standard gives you a BB with one left and one right hand thread so the rotation of the cranks can not unwind the cups.
    Neil
    Help I'm Being Oppressed
  • ince
    Thanks for the info, the Sheldon site has all the info I think I will need. From what I have just read (very quick glance) I think I may have just been confusing myself due to lack on knowledge. :shock:

Time to do some reading.
  • nielsamd
    nielsamd Posts: 174
    Just saw this thread today.
    How is the build working out?
    Would be interesting to see a photo when its done.

Just my .02 worth based on what I read above: I think some confusion may arise because a lot of `fixed gear/single-speed' frames advice will assume a rear track hub dropout spacing of 120mm.