spcialized v's commencal-my first full suspension!

julesd
julesd Posts: 7
edited June 2009 in MTB buying advice
hi i am new to this forum and wondered if anyone could give me some advice.

i have been riding a spesh rockhopper disc for 3 years and have been very happy with it. however today i have tried my very first full suspension ever and wow it was great - def got me keen to look into getting one.

my first thought would generally be to stick with specialized thinking maybe fsrxc - expert? however on trying this commencal meta 5.5..2 i am so tempted as i loved it.

however i have a niggle that long term, will il find it to heavy a bike (think was enjoying it as first time and did not really notice weight but may with time), i do enjoy red and black routes but i am not a really into jumping etc - prefer to roll over obstacles - altho must say was much faster on the commencal than i have ever been on my rockhopper, :lol: also enjoy long distance rides over moors etc

i have not had chance to try a specialized yet - but i am wondering are they generally more of a xc bike and would that suit me better?

any help/ideas really appreciated jules

Comments

• lawman
    lawman Posts: 6,868
    try the spesh but id personally go for the meta

if you want a fun ride that will excite you everytime you ride it get the meta. f*** the weight :lol:

if you're more into just pacing yourself and not really throwing a bike about, the spesh is probably better. its longer so will be more comfortable and possibly more reliable

in my opinion the spesh is the boring choice, they're far to dull and inspire little confidence and enthusiasum. the meta is a hoot to ride and rewards an agresive rider. its the hardcore choice.
  • julesd
    see i use words like 'wow' i am obviously not hardcore :lol:
  • lawman
    lawman Posts: 6,868
    lol

in that case the spesh is the ride for you i think.

a friend has an fsr and he has just started. he loves it.