TT Newbie looking for training advice and possibly a plan.

DanEvs
DanEvs Posts: 640
I've done two TT's now and took the plunge last night by coughing up for membership of my local club. From here on in I'm looking at doing a TT most weeks as well as my usual MTB riding/playing.

I ride MTB enduro's and have a good base level of fitness but really seemed to be lacking power last night and feel that I need help developing my legs. On the MTB I regularly run high HR's without any trouble and can ride at 90-95% of my heart rate range for an hour relatively easily whereas on the road bike I seem to lack the power to spin the pedals fast enough to really take advantage of my cardio and my legs get heavy. I'm recovering from a knee arthroscopy performed 21st May but feel pretty good about it.

I'm quite new to all this training/fitness lark and I know there are some very clued up peeps on here who can maybe help me improve my TT performance so any pointers gratefully received.

I'm 27, 5'9" and weigh 76kgs (need to lose a few :D ) and ride 3-4 times a week.

2 previous TT's-
May- 22mile in 56mins on a hilly course av-23.5mph.
last night- 10mile in 26mins on a flat course av 23mph! (post knee op)

Comments

• I'm wondering whether your maximum HR is higher than you think it is.

The primary determinants of performance in TT racing are:
    - Sustainable aerobic power (and to some extent your sustainable power to weight ratio)
    - Good pacing
    - Aerodynamics

So to improve speed / times in a TT, then you'll need to address all three of these.