Did you join the closest cycling club to you?

Gav888
Gav888 Posts: 946
Hi,

Im interested in joining a cycling club and there are 2 im thinking of, one is approx 10 miles from my home, the other is approx 20 miles.

At present its 70 / 30 in favour of the one that is 20 odd miles away, and I was considering driving there with the bike in the boot and then going on the club run because im still new to this sport and riding 40 odd miles there and back, plus 50 odd miles on the club run would kill me.....

Does anyone travel far to a club run or do people generally join the closest club to them?
Cycling never gets any easier, you just go faster - Greg LeMond

Comments

• dave milne
    dave milne Posts: 703
    I am spoilt for choice in south london and joined one 8 miles away when there are a few closer. I knew some of the people there already and the 16 extra miles is a good thing
  • disgruntledgoat
    disgruntledgoat Posts: 8,957
    My club is about 20 miles away, the nearer one was pretty much exclusively a TT club at the time. I tend to ride out to the club runs and then pull off on the way back as they pass my town (or in that general direction).
    "In many ways, my story was that of a raging, Christ-like figure who hauled himself off the cross, looked up at the Romans with blood in his eyes and said 'My turn, sock cookers'"

@gietvangent
  • BeaconRuth
    BeaconRuth Posts: 2,086
    FWIW my club is based about 25 miles away from where I live. (When I changed jobs and moved house I stayed in the same club.) There have been times when I've regularly ridden across to join the club run, but I don't do it in mid winter because it would mean setting off in the dark. The extra mileage isn't really an issue once you're used to it if you have the time and the desire to do it. I don't do it these days except in the autumn because the clubrun is not ideal for my training.