New to cycling - old bike, even older bloke!

AlfaKen
AlfaKen Posts: 3
edited June 2009 in Road beginners
Hello all - newbie here.

I am trying to get fit and a friend has donated his bike to the endeavour.
It's a Carlton ProAm 12 from about 1975 so no new technology here!

As I live in Sheffield just about everywhere is a hill to climb and I just can't do it - yet!!
I've only been having a go for a couple of weeks and whilst I like the Hope Valley (flat) I take the bike in my car - I can hear the groans now but please stay with me.

Temporarily, I wonder if I can change the gearing to suit the hills more?
Currently it has 52/42 (stamped on rings) and 12/23 (I think - it was mesmerising to count).

All advice greatly welcome, but please bear in mind I don't know the ins and outs.

Ken

Comments

• Hello,

are you sure he's a friend if he's given you a 52/42 and 12/23 to start off on around Sheffield? I think that's called 'tough love'.

I'd stick with working on your fitness in the Valleys for now and save some cash for a more forgiving bike. The cheapest upgrade you could do is change the cassette to a 12-27 but as you're working with old components that might prove tricky. Might be an idea to let your local bike shop, LBS, take a look.

One of the first lessons I learned was that, 'this isn't going to be cheap.' Mind I don't begrudge a penny.

Good luck.
    If they can get you asking the wrong questions, they don't have to worry about answers.
  • passout
    passout Posts: 4,425
    Hi Ken

Your gearing seems high to me, you could certainly sort out some easier ratios. Perhaps getting your local bike shop to fit a new rear sprocket (and chain probably) might be the easier option. If this is not possible then you could change one or both of the front rings or even but on a new chain set (which included the cranks as well).