Is road cycling a substitute for training legs in the gym?

miurasv
miurasv Posts: 345
I recently started training in the gym working all the body parts over 3 days, chest and back one day, legs the next and shoulders and arms on the next day. A few of my friends have told me that there is no need to train my legs in the gym as I also recently started doing between 10 and 20 miles a day on the bike some of which is quite hilly. Is this true?

Comments

• freehub
    freehub Posts: 4,257
    It's not true as in the Gym you could be training different muscles, you dont use all of your leg muscles in cycling.

For example, I can run to save my life but can cycle for miles, after a very short run my legs ache like mad.
  • It depends what you're trying to achieve. If you're going to the gym for aesthetics (how you want to look) then training legs with squats will pack on the muscle in a lot shorter time than it would take cycling. Your weights routine seems crap by the way.
  • miurasv
    It depends what you're trying to achieve. If you're going to the gym for aesthetics (how you want to look) then training legs with squats will pack on the muscle in a lot shorter time than it would take cycling. Your weights routine seems crap by the way.

Thanks for your replies Freehub and AW. Seems I can't get away with training the legs in the gym then. Yes, doing it for aestthetics if I'm honest. What would be a better way to train then if my weights routine is crap, AW?
  • Considering you're doing a 3 day split, I'd go:

Chest/Shoulders/Triceps
    Back/Biceps
    Legs

The reason this layout is usually preferred is because when training chest the secondary muscles used are mostly shoulders and triceps. It therefore makes sense to train them on the same day. The same goes for back & biceps which complement each other. Legs if trained correctly need a day of their own as they are a big group.