I'm now beginning to regret saying yes....Mountain Mayhem

stumpyjon
stumpyjon Posts: 4,069
edited June 2009 in XC and Enduro
Got roped into a team for Mountain Mayhem as a stand in......and then someone dropped out :shock: .

Anyway I've never done anything on this scale before. Anyone got any advice?

What's the course like, hardtail or full suss. I'm tending towards taking the full suss as despite the weight it's a much more comfy ride especially when knackered.

How competitive are the riders, I've not trained as much as I'd have liked although by my standards I'm pretty fit at the moment.

Advice and supportive comments much appreciated.
It's easier to ask for forgiveness than for permission.

I've bought a new bike....ouch - result
Can I buy a new bike?...No - no result

Comments

• pirwin1
    pirwin1 Posts: 248
    I'm doing it for the first time too!

From what I've heard from people in my club who did it last year, take mud tyres. If the weather stays like this it'll be fine but apparently last year it rained pretty hard in the night and the course was extremely muddy. One of my friends told me his lap time in the dry was 50mins, his lap time during the rain was 2hrs 15mins :shock:

As for competetiveness, I think there's the whole range. From really serious to just for a laugh. I certainly know a couple of the teams from our club this year aren't going to be very fast!

I've not done as much training as I would've liked either due to exams, haven't ridden for a week and have a week and a half to go :(
  • Thewaylander
    Thewaylander Posts: 8,594
    Good luck on it mate, a team 24hour event is something i would love to try.. though my fitness is dead low at he moment.

Get back to us what it was like, gonna try and pursuade a bunch of mates for next year!
  • pirwin1
    I'll definitely report back on what it's like. Should be good.