Seeming Lack Of Power

Bossangel
Bossangel Posts: 164
I've been riding XC for nearly 2 years and I would say my fitness is quite good. On the flat i can AVG 13mph and I can seem to climb any hill. The trouble I have is climbing the hill at speed. I dont seem to be able to get up with any speed at all. Though I amke it to the top I can seem to keep up with my friends going up all the time. How can I increase my leg power power to keep up with them :)
Why use brakes? Falling off is a much quicker way to stop

Comments

• whyamihere
    whyamihere Posts: 7,695
    Lose weight. Your climbing speed is dictated by the amount of power you can put out per kilogram of weight. It's easier to drop weight than to increase power.
  • whyamihere wrote:
    Lose weight. Your climbing speed is dictated by the amount of power you can put out per kilogram of weight. It's easier to drop weight than to increase power.

debatable.

You can increase power and drop fat weight. but someone that has good fitness via XC riding for 2 years shouldn't have much fat to lose.

Hit the gym, get some leg and core strength training done.
  • Dazzza
    Dazzza Posts: 2,364
    Weight does have a profound impact though when i was 80kg i could fly up any hill with ease, now im 99kg i struggle at times despite being stronger.
    The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it.
    Giant Anthem X
  • 77ric
    77ric Posts: 601
    Dazzza wrote:
    Weight does have a profound impact though when i was 80kg i could fly up any hill with ease, now im 99kg i struggle at times despite being stronger.

Look at our road racing brethren, they are all built like tooth picks but climb hills with no problems. It's all about balancing the weight and strength. if you get to strong you gain too much weight to climb effectively, and vice versa.