Forum home Road cycling forum Amateur race

Peterborough CC - Baxter & King Construction Road Races

chipperleeniechipperleenie Posts: 217
edited June 2009 in Amateur race
Here are the results from today - if anyone here rode the races let us have any feedback on comments on the race.

E/1/2 Result.

Heavy rain for the first 5 laps ensured all the riders were totally soaked, the rain then eased up for the last half of the race.Lead group of 3 established very early on in the race and were never seen again, a chase group of 7 formed with 3 laps to go but never made contact. Dan Staite took a close sprint for the win and the £250 first prize over Joe Skipper with Lewelyn Byrne a couple of seconds behind. Andy Lyons came in alone for 4th place then a group of riders split up over the last few miles led in by Matt Jennings. This was followed in by another group of 6 then the bunch sprinting for 16th place.

1 Dan Staite – Python RT
2 Joe Skipper – BMC UK RT at s.t
3 Llewelyn Byrne – SIS at 3 seconds
4Andy Lyons – BMC UK RT
5 Matt Jennings –
6 Dan McLay – Univega RT
7 David Williams – Kuota
8 Michael Smith – Lotto Olympia Team Interbike
9 Andy Betts – Sigma Sport
10 Adam Norris – BMC UK RT
11 M Werenko – Beds Roads CC
12 Nigel Williams – Python RT
13 A Cox – Beds Roads CC
14 D Wier – Coalville Whs
15 Flavio Zappi – GT Foundation/Colnago
16 D Gardias – GT Foundation/Colnago
17 S Griffiths – BMC UK RT
18 Milan Sihelsky – Kuota
19 C Stevenson –
20 Ian Franklin – BMC UK RT
21 Lee Desborough – Ely & District CC
22 O Pearce –
23 Mark Williams – Python RT
24 N Miller – Lotto Olympia Team Interbike
25 P Fielding – St Ives CC
26 A Duggleby – Shorter Rochford Cycles
27 Bart Bielecki – Sigma Sport
28 I Samuel Crest CC
29 B Roach – Wyre Forest CC ??
30 Malcolm Smith – Fenland Clarion
31 S Henley – Team Corley ??
32 R Norris – VC Revolution. ??

1st Team – BMC UK RT – Joe Skipper, Andy Lyons & Adam Norris

Prime – Dan Staite – Python RT

3/4 Result.

After half distance 2 riders wnet clear - Martin Jones and Will Dorsett, they were joined with 2 laps to go by a group of 7 to make a leading group of 9 that stayed away to the finish with Michael Smith just pipping Will Dorsett for the win and the £100 prize.

1 Michael Smith – Team Milton Keynes
2 Will Dorsett – North Norfolk Wheelers
3 Tristan Emptage – North Road CC
4 Martin Jones – Fenland Clarion
5 Mark Botteley – Bourne Wheelers
6 Will Jenkins – Team Synergy
7 Neil Munro – Zenith CC
8 Steve Hewing – Leics RC
9 Basil Moss – Cambridge CC all at s.t
10 David Furniss – Doncaster Wheelers at 1 minute
11 Paul verlander – Team Endura
12 T Caldwell – St Ives CC
13 Richard Lamb – Bourne Wheelers
14 O Thistlethwayte – Newark Castle CC
15 R Keeler – Cambridge CC
16 Alan Moules – St Ives CC
17 W Coe – Stowmarket CC
18 Mike Shattock – Fenland Clarion
19 Greg Payne – Rockingham Forest Wheelers
20 ?? – Cambridge CC
21 S Annetts – Boston Wheelers
22 Nigel Burns – St Ives CC
23 J Hucklesby – St Ives CC
24 J Storey – Witham Wheelers
25 T Rayner – CC Ashwell all same time
26 J Samuel – Crest CC at 3 minutes.

Prime - Will Dorsett – North Norfolk Wheelers


  • BronzieBronzie Posts: 4,927
    if anyone here rode the races let us have any feedback on comments on the race.
    I wish I'd worn my mask and flippers! Respect to everyone who finished the races in those wet, wet, wet conditions.

    Thanks for organising the events and my regards to all the marshals standing out in the rain all morning.

    Must say I'm not a great lover of the course, the lane back in to Sawtry is a bit narrow in a bunch. Other than that little gripe, it was all very well organised and congratulations to you and the Peterborough CC.
Sign In or Register to comment.