training advice please - trying to create a programme

arc123chief
arc123chief Posts: 28
Hi There

I have been cycling for for about 2 years now, but have always used cycling as a bit of extra training around the other sports I play. However, I have been suffering from a few injuries that are preventing me from doing my other sports at the moment, so was hoping to keep the weight off (well, reduce weight if I can) by doing a cycling (and swimming) programme.

My aims are as follows:

- Lose fat (I am currently around 16.5% bf) and weigh about 86kgs
- Get fitter - both in terms of sprint type fitness and endurance
- remain injury free
- Enjoy my sports :-)

Can anybody provide me with a sample programme?? How many days a week should I cycle? For how far/long? I am happy to get up in the morning and cycle, and would probably rotate this with swimming too. Any hints/tips/guidance or pointing in the right direction would be great......

Oh, also. I have seen may people mentioning computers (HRMs/cadence etc) - How do these help with training?? As you can tell, a bit of a novice when it comes to these things......

Many Thanks

Andy 8)

Comments

• Infamous
    Infamous Posts: 1,130
    How long is your piece of string?

The best thing you can do right now is ride as often as you can, for as far as you can. Keep going further and further every week, then come back in a year and ask about intervals.
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Have a look at a book such as 'The Cyclist's Training Bible' by Joe Friel for some ideas on routines...

Yes it does go in depth with periodization (american sp) and building for particular goals but it is a good reference...
  • doyler78
    doyler78 Posts: 1,951
    NapoleonD wrote:
    Have a look at a book such as 'The Cyclist's Training Bible' by Joe Friel for some ideas on routines...

Yes it does go in depth with periodization (american sp) and building for particular goals but it is a good reference...