which bike - newbie here! cube or trek

daz_mtb
daz_mtb Posts: 33
edited June 2009 in MTB buying advice
Hi guys - posted in the wrong section so reposting here

Hi all. Great forum you have here.

I have been reading lots on the bikes above, and have £1000 via cyclescheme to spend on a bike. I like the look of these too.

Cube LTD race
Trek 6700

I am a complete noob so please be gentle. I want to use the bike to commute to work say twice a week, 20 mile round trip. Plus some off road use (such as park etc)

I know I should look at hybrids but I like the look of these puppies!

What bike is more suitable for road use in terms of tyres? and overall parts. I know both tyres are knobbly, but maybe I could change the tyres to these?

http://www.evanscycles.com/products/spe ... e-ec001850

Can you go from 2.25 to 1.95? on these rims, and is it easy to change tyres?

With these pedals?

http://www.evanscycles.com/products/dmr ... s-ec005307

Also I am 5"11 what frame size should i go for for mainly road use?

Thanks guys!!!

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Both are good XC bikes. You can go for smaller tyres, and less treaded ones for road use. Those pedals will do, but you can get the same for half price by Wellgo.

For size, have a read of the What Size thread.
  • Lee30
    Lee30 Posts: 118
    I'm 5"10 and just ordered a 19.5inch trek 6500,

I nearly bought the cube ltd comp that was a 20inch frame.

Hope thats useful.

But before you buy you must ride them mate.
  • Lee30
    Lee30 Posts: 118
    also tyres are a very easy job to do by yourself,

Just need some tyre levers (Very cheap)

And a pump!
  • daz_mtb
    wow thanks guys, going to test a 19.5" trek 6700 at richmond cycles. They have some more road friendly schwalbe tyres to put on if required. I think Lee you hit the nail on the head, test ride! I was trying to avoid it - but its essential!
  • canada16
    canada16 Posts: 2,360
    WELLGO MG1.

HOLLLAAA

Best pedal ever
  • GHill