Lycra - Do I have to?

Bunneh
Bunneh Posts: 1,329
edited June 2009 in The bottom bracket
There are those of us who look absolutely great in lycra and there are those who just look like a lump of plastercine stuffed into a small plastic bag - sadly I fall into the latter. I 'm not fat but I bulge in some of the oddest places, plus I get that 'bagginess' between the legs after a while (sorry for the mental imagery). So rather than go through the ritual humiliation of I wear lycra shorts under some baggies and wear a rugby top instead of a lycra top.

Since I started riding again I have noticed even the people on the shoppers are clad in multicoloured condoms, and I must admit I'm feeling a bit left out. The question is do I stick to what's comfortable or punish society and get a lycra kit? I know the answer, but I'm interested in other peoples' thoughts, and I'm also slightly bored, sat in the back yard on the laptop...

And no, I ain't shaving my legs! Not gonna happen, ever, ever!

Comments

• guilliano
    guilliano Posts: 5,495
    Get the lycra look! You'll soon notice the bulges moving to more appropriate places. I look horrid in lycra too, but it is more comfortable and not as hot and sweaty as other clothing.

I'll never shave my legs either...... I don't have massages every morning so there is no need
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    guilliano wrote:
    Get the lycra look! You'll soon notice the bulges moving to more appropriate places. I look horrid in lycra too, but it is more comfortable and not as hot and sweaty as other clothing.

I'll never shave my legs either..... I don't have massages every morning so there is no need

Just wait until you fall off and they have to clean the wound!!!
  • guilliano
    guilliano Posts: 5,495
    Been there, done that. Never had a problem with wound cleaning on hairy legs before. It's not like I'm a bear
  • edhornby
    edhornby Posts: 1,780