Suggestions for hybrid commuting bike under £200?

MrCuddles
MrCuddles Posts: 3
edited May 2009 in The workshop
Hi there folks.

I'm totally new to cycling to work and this is my first post, so please be gentle.

I've decided to commuting by bike instead of the car and take up cycling in my spare time. I'm really daunted by the choice of hybrid bikes and could do with some help picking a good one (my employer doesn't do a Cycle to Work scheme :( )

My budget for this first bike is only £200. My office is about 7 miles away and is tarmac main roads and streets all the way. I'd also like to use this bike to go cycling in the park and do some ocassional charity bike rides.

Any help and advice appreciated.
Rich.

Comments

• bomberesque
    bomberesque Posts: 1,701
    that's a very tight budget. I'd suggest something 2nd hand, tbh If you get into cycling, you'll soon want to spend more than that on a better bike

at that pricepoint, one of the bigbox stores that we're generally snobbish about might have something. The budget range of bikes at Decathlon for example are great. Don't get distracted by features, at that price you want simple and rigid (no shock)

If you're up for it (and it takes a certain mentality) there are some cheap singlespeeds about such as the SE racing draft litewhich charlie knocks out for 300

but really, I'd trawl my local paper for a 2nd hand bike for about 100, spend some cash making it run better then see how you get on.
    Everything in moderation ... except beer
    Beer in moderation ... is a waste of beer

If riding an XC race bike is like touching the trail,
    then riding a rigid singlespeed is like licking it
    ... or being punched by it, depending on the day
  • biondino
    biondino Posts: 5,990