Night shift and food

neilo23
neilo23 Posts: 783
Anyone have any dietary tips for me? My problem is that I work in the night and am never sure when I should eat. I have numerous books and magazines with diet tips, but they are all aimed at people with 9-5 jobs. I usually get up at 12 midday. Then I either have breakfast, wait an hour and train 2-3 hours or have a cup of coffee, train for an hour then eat. Then I have a meal at about 6 and start work at 7. I finish at 1 or 2 in the morning, or at 5 at the weekend (in a pub) with no break to eat whilst at work. After work I'm usually starving and generally eat something and go to bed (not the best way of losing weight). How could I plan my eating better?

Comments

• markos1963
    markos1963 Posts: 3,724
    I can sympathise Neil, being a train driver my shifts are all over the place, in fact some weeks I'll start on earlies and finish on nights! What I do on nights is to get up around 1pm and have a good breakfast(muesili, banana, dried apricot, honey) then go out training about an hour and a half later. Eat an evening meal at around 730pm. Then at work I'll eat my sandwich and fruit BEFORE 1am, this is crucial. Any later and your body will keep you awake trying to digest the food just when you want to sleep. The other thing is I don't drink tea or coffee on nights as this is a stimulant and it keeps you up artificially until the effect wears off and you feel sleepier(not good in my job) I just drink lots of water to keep me hydrated. I eat nothing before sleeping.
  • phil s
    phil s Posts: 1,128
    I'm currently on nights and find my eating is all over the place - I can't stomach the idea of the type of meals I regularly eat, can't face anything hot other than porridge and crave carbs and sugar. I tend to go with what I crave and then buckle down after I've got through my stint of nights (in my case usually 2-3 12 hour shifts once a month).
    -- Dirk Hofman Motorhomes --
  • rjh299
    rjh299 Posts: 721