Running!

Graydawg
Graydawg Posts: 673
edited June 2009 in Health, fitness & training
Well I started training for running a 10k in September.

So started with a 4 mile circuit I'm doing where I do periods of work / recover right the way round. Now I'd say I am pretty fit, but not super fit... I mean I can comfortably spin on a bike for hours on end, do weights etc.... but OW my legs are hurting today!

Did 4 miles on tuesday and stretched off as normal.
Recovered yesterday.
Did 4 miles again this morning.

My muscles are aching in the legs so I'm hoping that pushing through it I will be able to get past the pain barrier and into a comfortable running routine!

Any suggestions? Am I doing anything wrong if my legs are aching? Failing that, some words of encouragement / or other stories of you guys running would be good to see!

My Inspiration is that I've been watching ITV's reality program "the biggest loser".....

thinking - if they can do it then so can I!!!

Wish me luck!!! :D
It's been a while...

Comments

• Maull Man
    Maull Man Posts: 13
    I'm training for the same thing at the moment - 10k

My local running shop suggested to try the following weekly routine to get there as quickly as possible....

Monday - 5k as fast as you can

Wednesday - interval train by running up the steepest hill you can find as fast as you can then walking back down...repeat 4 to 5 times or for approx 20 mins. This needs to be as hard as possible

Friday - the distance run...I'm at 7k this week and it's suggested you don't increase more than 10% each week. But basically as far as possible without an eye on the clock

On the other days I'm still on the weights or the bike in the gym to keep the rest of me in shape

Hope that helps - oh and lastly if you can run with others then do it !!...
  • Surf-Matt
    Surf-Matt Posts: 5,952