Confidence?

kell
kell Posts: 32
edited May 2009 in Road beginners
I'm quite new to all this so bear with me.
Last Friday I had my first fall from my bike which involved a right turn and some loose road surface. It resulted in some heavy bruising on my right leg, slight damage to my handle bar and most importantly a great chunk of my confidence seems to have disappeared somewhere!
Fresh from the bike shop, straightened out I went out on my bike but felt like a jumpy little bunny upon it! This is very frustrating as I was going great guns before.
Has anyone else felt like this after coming off their bike?
Any tips for confidence building?
Fingers crossed,
Kell xx

Comments

• kingrollo
    kingrollo Posts: 3,198
    drop your saddle slightly - and go out when its quiet - theres no quick fix - but perhaps you can put this time to good use - by concentrating on pedalling technique, or hill work,
  • SCR Pedro
    SCR Pedro Posts: 912
    Your confidence will return soon enough. I once suffered a blow-out at 50kph and did well to stay upright. I was cautious on the descents for a long time afterwards but now I just go for it every time.

Cheers
    PEdro
    Giant TCR Advanced II - Reviewed on my homepage
    Giant TCR Alliance Zero
    BMC teammachineSLR03
    The Departed
    Giant SCR2
    Canyon Roadlite
    Specialized Allez
    Some other junk...
  • Shezzer
    Shezzer Posts: 229
    This probably aint what you want to hear but ... just get back on the bike and get out there. You'll soon realise you were probably just unlucky in your fall.

I had a heavy fall just a couple of months after taking up cycling and bust up my elbow quite badly ... to extent I could barely feel my fingers for 2-3 days. It all sorted itself out after a couple of weeks but I kept putting off getting back on the bike, finding one excuse or another. In the end I just resolved to get on with it and after a couple of nervy rides my confidence came back and I was enjoying it again.