Saddles

SuzeQ
SuzeQ Posts: 3
edited June 2009 in Women
Hi all,
I'm new to mountain biking having come from a road cycling background. I've bought a second hand MTB from a hire shop to get me going. Nothing special just a Trek 4300 that I can learn on. However, I'm finding the saddle really uncomfortable and am looking to change it as soon as possible. It's a rather large, plush saddle which just doesn't fit me, plus I'm rather used to the sleeker saddle on my road bike.

My question is, do road and mountain bike saddles differ? I'm quite small and would be looking for a female specific saddle.

I've noticed that the SDG Allure saddle is highly rated and this I think is listed as a mountain bike saddle. It's reasonably pricey for a newbie but I don't mind too much if it'll be more comfortable. Otherwise I might find a cheaper 'road style' saddle. Any thoughts on whether it matters if it's MTB specific?
Suze
Newbie MTB rider

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    MTB ones can be sturdier with thicker covers.

But get what you like best. Specialized do a fitting and try out service.
  • SuzeQ
    SuzeQ Posts: 3
    Many thanks. I'll try to find out more about this. The Specialized website is down at the moment and I can't seem to find any retailer websites that state they offer a trial.

I'll investigate further.

Thanks again.
    Suze
    Newbie MTB rider
  • Mrs Toast
    Mrs Toast Posts: 636
    I think most Specialized dealers have the arse measuring tool - it's a pad you sit on, then they measure the dimples from the sit bones. The Specialized Concept stores definitely have them, if you could get to one of those.
  • Ditch Witch
    Ditch Witch Posts: 837
    Yeah, except my natural padding meant that my sit bones didn't leave a mark :oops:

:lol:
    I ride like a girl
    Start: 16.5.x Now: 14.10.8 Goal: 11.7.x
    www.ditchwitch.me.uk
    www.darksnow.co.uk
    Specialized HardRock Pro Disc 04
  • miss notax
    miss notax Posts: 2,572