Training/Fitness - Recovery after hills/fast bursts

spicypedro
spicypedro Posts: 17
edited May 2009 in Road beginners
I'm pretty new to road cycling. I'm 6'4", over 19st and not mega fit, although I can get about a bit.

Earlier in the year I was convinced to sign up for a 100mile charity ride this summer and in training for that I've got the bug. I'm loving road cycling now.

I've been going out on the weekly training rides with my LBS. They're a pretty quick lot (by my standards) averaging about 22/23mph. I can generally hang on for about 15-16miles of the 40mile route before I just can't keep up any more.

I'm getting further every week before dropping off the back - so my fitness is obviously improving, but my main problem is recovery. When we hit a hill, they race up it - I go as fast as I can and then push hard to catch the back of the pack. Of course when I've caught them I'm puffing and panting and my speed goes down.

This then starts a vicious circle of slowing down, catching up, being too knackered to keep up and slowing down again.

So my question is, how do I improve this. How can I train myself to recover quicker after hills or fast spurts?

Comments

• peanut1978
    peanut1978 Posts: 1,031
    Interval training may help you.

Either on road or turbo trainer
  • FSR_XC
    FSR_XC Posts: 2,258
    Go out with a different group that ride at a slower pace.

It's an endurance ride you're training for, not a race.
    Stumpjumper FSR 09/10 Pro Carbon, Genesis Vapour CX20 ('17)Carbon, Rose Xeon CW3000 '14, Raleigh R50

http://www.visiontrack.com
  • Mettan
    Mettan Posts: 2,103
    spicypedro wrote:
    I'm pretty new to road cycling. I'm 6'4", over 19st and not mega fit, although I can get about a bit.

Earlier in the year I was convinced to sign up for a 100mile charity ride this summer and in training for that I've got the bug. I'm loving road cycling now.