New to MTB and not sure which bike to get....

Xr4eyes
Xr4eyes Posts: 6
edited May 2009 in MTB buying advice
Hello

I've been thinking about getting a bike and doing some moutain biking for some time now and as my 30th birthday is coming up i thought i would treat myself, buy a bike and just do it. I plan to bike to work and take it off road over the weekends to have some fun.

Ive been looking round on the net, doing some research and have got two bikes in mind.

http://www.evanscycles.com/products/mongoose/tyax-super-2008-mountain-bike-ec000855

and

http://www.evanscycles.com/products/claud-butler/cape-wrath-d24-2008-mountain-bike-ec000251

£350 is about the most i want to spend and from a total novice point of view both of those look decent bikes and have good reviews ( Atleast the 07 models do).

Any thoughts on these bikes would be greatly appricated as i really cant make my mind up ><

Thanks in advance

Comments

• xtreem
    xtreem Posts: 2,965
    The Mongoose is a bit better in spec.
  • jmillen
    jmillen Posts: 627
    If the choice is just between those 2, I'd probably go with the Mongoose. If you're open to other suggestions, have a good look at the Fury, excellent bike for the price, especially if you can get it with the 20% off taking it down to £399
    2010 Specialized Stumpjumper FSR Expert Carbon
    2014 De Rosa R848
    Carrera TDF Ltd Commuter
  • You could get the 2009 Moongoose Super Tyax for not much more: (£360)

http://www.cyclelane.co.uk/products.php?plid=m1b2s2p1478&rs=gb
  • Xr4eyes
    That Fury does look a good buy!

I think i'll head down to Halfords in the morning and try it out. If im honest i would rather buy it from a local shop than online, much easier if things go wrong and i can actually sit on the bike before purchasing.

Thanks for the heads up guys :)
  • Xr4eyes
    Thought id report back with what i decided to do in the end...