Is it always this difficult

snellgrove
snellgrove Posts: 171
edited April 2009 in Commuting chat
Or am I missing some vital knowledge because I'm a rookie at taking bikes apart & working on them? (No cheeky comments please! I did the stem on my mountain bike, it was a 5 minute job!!!)

Heres the story... I ordered a new stem for my road bike. It (eventually) arrived and I went to put it on. Turns out it's smaller than my current stem (height-wise) on the steerer, so I go to buy a spacer.. and decide, hey... lets just get the steerer cut down by 5mm or so instead, do it properly y'know? :-) Save 0.1 grams too. Bonus. So, booked in at the LBS, they requested I bring in the fork (or bike, but they preferred just the fork)

Anyhoo, I figure out how to get the fork out....easy enough - I know that it's a threadless headset. The handlebars are cabled up to the bike (of course) so I start to undo the cables to free the handlebars from the frame. Except I don't know how to undo them from the handlebars. Hmm, google google.. no joy. I figure out that pulling the brake lever exposes the top of the cable inside, but obviously it only comes out through the STI (i.e. whole cable goes through & out)

So, I have to undo it at the brakes / derailleurs and pull through the cable runs. Easy. Except the cables have those caps on them to stop them fraying... and they're 0.000001mm too large to fit through the cable runs! bastards!!

So I have to cut the cables I guess?? Did this in the end to free the handlebars - new cables required, and no-doubt I'll have to re-bar tape the drops to run the new cables through. Joy.. another job??

I take the fork out and then realise that they'll need the frame with them tomorrow, because they need to know how much steerer pokes out the top with the existing spacer etc

ugh. :evil: I hate you Scott... unless I'm just clueless, which is also a possibility. It'll be worth it in the end though !!! :-)

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675