New Commute

cyclepooch
cyclepooch Posts: 15
edited April 2009 in Commuting chat
I am a newbie to the forums, so hello! 8)

Tomorrow I start my 21 Mile Commute and I am praying it will go well. It seems that the odds are against me though. Yesterday, my pride and Joy, a Dawes XC 2.2 converted into a Hybrid Configuration was pinched from my Garden. Not to be dettered I have resurrected my old Saracen Cheapo Mountain Bike as I can't face the train/bus combination.

Up until Friday, my commute was 10 miles a day rain or shine and I particularly enjoyed riding in snow/ice (yes I am a strange one). So now my Commute is jumping to 42 miles per day and I am quite excited by this if not a little worried.

I have done a couple of test rides and all was well, however because my newer bike was stolen, I have to ride the bike I call 'old gill'.

I will carry spare innertubes, removal levers, pump and water. The usual mobile phone will be present too. Any other suggestions?

Also, does anyone do a similar commute? How did you find it?

My main fear is something like an axle snapping or chain snapping. I am not too worried about cables breaking.

I took Old Gill to my local Cycle Shop to have him looked over and all was well. I have done a bit of riding on old gill and although he's not as nice as my Dawes, he's not so bad.

Comments

• benno68
    benno68 Posts: 1,689
    cyclepooch wrote:
    My main fear is something like an axle snapping or chain snapping. I am not too worried about cables breaking.

Hi there and welcome.

What a gutter about your Dawes. Think on the bright side though, you're able to cycle and you have a spare bike - yippee :D

As you've had the bike checked out by your LBS, everything should be fine, and you've got spare tubes and levers in case you meet the PF (puncture fairy), keep your tyre pressures up too as that usually prevents puctures.

Lights?